Duck One, Duck Two, Duck Th-Oh, Snap!


You may be looking at the title of this blog post & are perhaps thinking, “What on earth?!” Don’t worry, just keep reading. I haven’t lost my mind, I promise. 

Have you ever heard anyone say, “I just want/need to get all my ducks in a row first, then, I will do ____.” I grew up hearing this saying a lot, & eventually started saying it myself. It’s been more than a saying at times. It’s been the truth for me really, & I believe for a lot of us. How many of us want to understand everything before making a decision, or for everything to make sense before we step out & do something? 
*raises hand high* 

How many of us not only want our ducks in a row but also name them & assign them a number while we’re at it? And how many of us try to get all our ducks in a row, only to find one of them has waddled off?!
All joking aside, it’s not bad thing necessarily. It makes total, complete, & logical sense! At times, it is needed & is smart, too but sometimes in our lives, God doesn’t want us to have all of our “ducks in a row”. He wants us to have faith instead, to walk out of our comfort zone & step out into the deep waters, trusting Him & His will for our lives. 
Now, if you’re anything like me, sometimes….this can be…difficult. (Major understatement!) 

Past experiences or situations can affect our trust, not just in people but also in God. Fear can try to rear it’s nasty head up & confuse us to where we can feel like we are going to absolutely lose our minds by attempting to figure it all out, over thinking, over rationalizing, & over analyzing everything. It’s like we’re trying to chase after these “ducks” that just aren’t going to be caught, much less stand in a row. 
There’s a quote that is said in one of my forever all-time favorite films, “Miracle On 34th Street” by the character, Fred Gailey:

“Faith is believing when common sense tells you not to.” I just love that! In my opinion, it speaks volumes of truth. It also brings to mind John 20:29, which says, “Jesus said to him, “Have you believed because you have seen me? Blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed.”

There will be situations that enter our life where we just won’t be able to “figure it all out”. Just think for a moment. If we were to always have the answers, always have the ability to figure out every situation on our own, & always have the solutions, what would the point be in having faith at all, much less the point in trusting God to give our problems, worries, situations, & burdens to? We would never learn the beauty or spiritual growth that is found in exercising faith & trusting God, nor would we realize that we truly cannot do life alone without a Savior to lean & rely on. Truth is, we need God to depend on. I’ve always stated that the true definition of independence is being dependent upon God, & that means even in the times when things look rather confusing. We can’t trust in our own ability to solve a situation but we can have faith in a God who’s had a solution even before the earth was formed. 


“But how can I even have faith or faith in God if I have an issue with trust?” 

A legitimate question, one I will answer with a question. How do you build a lasting, trusting, & faithful relationship with someone? LOVE. The more you learn & realize just how much that individual truly does care deeply for you & loves you, it builds a trust inside of you that is founded on that very love. 1 John 4:18 tells us that perfect loves casts out all fear:  

“There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love.” 

What is perfect love? More like Who is perfect love? Jesus

In my own personal experience & walk with God, I’ve learned that the more I learn about His love for me, the more I trust in Him & His promises, promises that He loves me, promises that He is for me & not against me, promises that He works things out for good, promises that He orders my steps, promises that He protects me, promises that He hears my prayers, even before I speak, promises that He loves me & His love will never fail, for it is an everlasting love! These promises are ones that build up my faith, because once we know how much God loves us, we can trust & rest in assurance that a promise from God is one that will never be broken! It is a definite & a sure guarantee. 

I don’t know what situation you might be facing today. Whether it’s a family, financial or health situation, my friend, God has you covered. Perhaps it’s not even a “problem”. Maybe it’s a big decision you need to make or a step you need to take but you’re scared to because you don’t know if it’s the right thing to do. Trust in Him. Ask Him for wisdom & let Him guide you. Listen to the Holy Spirit’s promptings. Fear is a liar. Don’t let fear motivate your decisions. 

I won’t lie to you & say that sometimes it can feel a bit scary to throw away the ducks & choose to “walk on water”. Not being sure of what is going to happen at first can be a little spooky! I can tell you this though. There has never been a time that I have let go of holding on to whatever it was, giving it to God & regretted it. Not once. And although I might have not been sure of things at first, there is one thing you & I both can always be sure of & that is that God has us, is for us, & works things out for our good. He orders our steps! He’s our GPS, our lifeguard, our captain, our chauffeur & our travel guide! All you & I have to do it just step out. Step out in faith & let Him lead. Let Him lead you into your beautiful destiny, the destiny He has had planned for you even before you were ever born. 

“Faith isn’t a feeling. It’s a choice to trust God even when the road ahead seems uncertain.” 

Thank you for reading.
-Julia ❤️

Leave a Reply

