It Is Well!


It’s been a good minute since I’ve been able to compose a blog post. I attempt to write a post once a week but that doesn’t always happen, unfortunately. 

I’ve been struggling with a bit of a writer’s cramp actually, mostly due to some current circumstances & exhaustion. There’s been so much happening since the start of this month & a good chunk of it has been hard & very painful. It’s a beautiful thing though, a beautiful thing indeed how God can turn pain it into something good & show us just what a good, good Father He is. 

Right before entering June, I was reading a book where the author brought to attention the story of how the song “It Is Well With My Soul” came to be. I already knew the song & it’s background but for some reason, the words leaped off the pages. I found myself frequently telling myself that day, “It is well. It is well with my soul.” It just resonated with me deeply. 

The next day, things started happening, negative & painful things. It wasn’t really anything new in actuality but the velocity of what was happening was extremely intense & over powering. That night, I went to my room, sat on the edge of my bed & cried out to God. Immediately, I heard, “It is well with you, Julia. It is well.” The words had such a comforting & uplifting effect on my heart & to my spirit. I then remembered what I’d read in that book the previous day. Later, as I scrolled down the Facebook news feed, I saw a photo with the words, “It is well with my soul.” Tears began to flood my eyes. The next day, I was on Pinterest looking at some recipes when out of nowhere, a photo graphic with the words “It is well with my soul” popped up. I couldn’t believe it! As the days passed, this message was continually relayed to me in all sorts of ways, even down to a decorative pillow with those words printed on it that I saw in a store window. God was trying to tell & remind me of something- obviously!

Every time I saw & continue to see those words, I feel so strengthened & encouraged. Even though my “natural” circumstances have not changed yet, even though things still seem tough, even though many a sleepless night has been spent, even though everything seems to be thundering & raging around me, I know that it is well because I know who my Heavenly Father is & how faithful He is to His beloved, His bride, His children. He will never let us down. 

I’m not trying to tell you my “sob story” just to tell it for the heck of it. There’s a bright side to this, a lesson I was reminded of- which is the meat of my blog.

Everything we go through, good or bad, can teach us something. We can let our situation either define us or inspire us.  Don’t let your hard time, your pain, your disappointments, your heartache or your hurt define you. Don’t take those things on as your identity. No, instead, let it inspire you. Remember who you are. Remember WHOSE you are. 

No matter how bleak or dreadful your circumstance(s) may appear, no matter how much you are hurting, no matter how alone & abandoned you may feel right now, God is right by your side. He has not, nor will ever abandon you or forsake you. You are His precious child, His jewel, the apple of His eye. He loves you like He loves His own beloved Son, Jesus. You are strong, resilient, victorious & an overcomer. Not because of you or anything that you or I have done or can do, but only because of Christ & what HE has done. No matter how fierce this trial may appear, remember how loved you are, how fierce, how relentless, how passionate, how endless & how intense God’s love for you is. Give it all to Him. Give Him your “mess” & watch Him transform it into a stunning, exquisitely beautiful masterpiece. Let Him turn what seems like painful tests into your testimony. You are going to get through this dark place. Not only is there a light at the end of the tunnel, but there is also a Light in your heart as well, a Light that is guiding you, giving you wisdom, comforting you, loving you, giving you peace, strength & hope in the midst of this storm.

I don’t know what you are going through today, what situations or circumstances you might be facing but I do know this: 

Nothing is too hard or impossible for your’s & my Daddy God in heaven. 

“For I hold you by your right hand— I, the Lord your God. And I say to you, ‘Don’t be afraid. I am here to help you.”
‭‭-Isaiah‬ ‭41:13‬‬

‭‭Thank you for reading! ♥️‬‬

‭‭-Julia ‬‬

Leave a Reply

